Wednesday, 29 February 2012

Hello World...this is me...

Hello to anyone that may be interested in reading my blog.  I have to tell you now that I am a first time blogger so I really do not know what I am doing.  I hope to work it out as I go through.  Anyway welcome to my blog.  OK so I would like to introduce myself here and now... my name is Nicole Estelle Higlett, I am 28 years of age (until 21st April that is!) and I was born in and still live in Rockhampton (Beef Capital of Australia!) 

I love traveling, I have traveled overseas on 6 separate occasions.  I have visited Nepal - Kathmandu, Nagarkot & Chitwan Jungle, Thailand - Phuket & Bangkok, New Zealand - South Island (twice - spending a lot of time in Queenstown), Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh City & Hoi Anh, United Kingdom - London, Edinburgh & Isle of Skye, Europe - France - Paris, Netherlands - Amsterdam, Germany - Berlin, Czech Republic - PragueAustria - Salzburg, Italy - Venice & Rome, Greece - Athens & Greek Islands - Santorini.

The next destination that I have my sights set on is Canada. 

My dream destination is South America.


OK so as you can see I love traveling I have also travel extensively throughout Queensland and I have traveled throughout Australia - Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Darwin.  My next domestic destination that I have my sights set on is Tasmania - where I am very keen to do some white water rafting. 

I think this love for traveling is one of the reasons I am interested in teaching Geography.  Travel isn't just about the destination, it is about the people, the cultures, the history, the environment and the experiences.

My other teaching area is Biology.  I have a great interest in science, my previous studies have been a Bachelor of Environmental Science with Central Queensland University in 2003, and a Bachelor of Science majoring in Aquatic Resource Management with Central Queensland University in 2005.  I have worked in the environmental science field for the past 7 years and I am still working with the Department of Environment and Resource Management (DERM) in water management and use.

I love exercising and playing sports.  I completed my Certificate III in fitness (group instruction) with Australia Fitness Network earlier this year.  I regularly play touch football and have been playing touch since I was 11 years old (wow, its been 18 years this year!).  I am very competitive and I really enjoy team sports as I love interacting with people.

So there you go, a little bit of information about me and my interests.

I am a people-oriented, extroverted Taurus that loves learning about the environment and science, loves traveling to new destinations and loves meeting new people.  I can talk underwater and am often caught talking and singing to myself and dancing in elevators!!!

Bye for now.

Nic.